Chichester District Council

COUNCIL: ANNUAL MEETING

19 May 2015

Appointments to External Organisations

1. Contacts

Diane Shepherd, Chief Executive

Tel: 01243 534511 Email: dshepherd@chichester.gov.uk

Katherine Jeram, Member Services Officer

Tel: 01243 534674 Email: kjeram@chichester.gov.uk

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the Council appoint Members to serve on outside organisations for 2015-2016 and longer term appointments/nominations as set out in the tables in the report.

3. Main Report

- 3.1 Most appointments to outside organisations are made by the Cabinet as the terms of reference for the Cabinet include the authority "to appoint or nominate persons to outside organisations which relate to functions of the Cabinet." However, the appointment of Members to other organisations not relating to the functions of the Cabinet is reserved to Full Council.
- 3.2 Set out below are details of the organisations and the number of representatives to be appointed. Nominations are awaited and will be reported to the Council meeting.

Annual Appointments 2015-2016

ORGANISATION		APPOINTMENT in 2014/15	APPOINTMENT in 2015/16
1.	Chichester Conservation Area Advisory Committee (2)	Alan Chaplin (LD) NB Mr Chaplin is no longer a member Quentin Cox (LD) NB Mr Cox is no longer a member	Les Hixson (C) Richard Plowman (LD)
2.	Portsmouth Water Customer Forum (1)	Simon Oakley (C)	Simon Oakley (C)
3.	Sussex Police and Crime Panel (1)	Eileen Lintill (C) Deputy:Tony Dignum (C)	Eileen Lintill (C) Deputy: Carol Purnell (C)
4.	Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust Council of Governors (1)	Bob Hayes (C)	Gillian Keegan (C)
5.	West Sussex Health and Adult Social Care Committee (1)	Pam Dignum (C)	Pam Dignum (C)

Longer Term Appointments

ORGANISATION		APPOINTMENTS in	APPOINTMENTS from
		2014/15	2015/16
6.	Bourne Community College Governing Body (1)	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive	(4 year appointment until 2017)
7.	Bourne Trust Board (1)	Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive	(4 year appointment until 2017)
8.	Chichester College Board of Governors (2)	Jane Dodsworth – Head of Business Improvement Steve Hansford – Head of Service Community	(4 year appointment until 2017)
9.	Chichester Harbour Conservancy (2 plus deputy)	Graeme Barrett (C) David Myers (C) NB Mr Myers is no longer a member John Connor - Deputy	Graeme Barrett (C) John Connor (C) Penny Plant (Deputy) (C) (3 year appointment 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2017)
10.	South Downs National Park Authority (1)	Andrew Shaxson (I)	Mark Dunn(C) (appointment is for councillor's term of office, ie until May 2019)
11.	West Sussex Pensions Panel (1)	Andrew Smith (LD) NB Mr Smith is no longer a member	No nomination (3 year appointment until 2017)

4. Background Papers

None.

5. Appendices

None.